Skip to content

Where we’re going (part 3)

September 20, 2009

In the last post, I noted three major criterium I had in mind if I was going to feel good about us planting right out of seminary. Here are what they were/are:

1. A Team

The thought of Megan and I being a couple of lone rangers and moving to a city to start a church is terrifying to me. I don’t know how guys have done it in the past, although many of the best have done great things with this model. But for me, when I examine the responsibilities of a church planter and pastor, I see that they are greater than one man can handle. I wasn’t going to plant apart from having some great and talented people to plant with.

And fortunately that’s what we have. We’ve already seen a wonderful team (see their blog links in the preceding post) come together including:

Alex and Kristel Acevedo – The Acevedos are awesome and crazy talented. Alex works at Apple, is a very talented graphic designer, and is taking classes here at Southeastern. Kristel is getting her M.A. in Biblical Counseling at Southeastern and is one amazing photographer. They’re originally from Miami, and have become dear friends of ours.

Andy Metzger – Andy and I went to USC together and is one of my best friends. He is the type of guy who can do a million different things well, as his talents include administration, bow hunting, and fixing things around our apartment when they break. I’m not sure if I should be offended that Megan’s first instinct is to call Andy when something needs to be fixed in our apartment or cars.

My wife (Megan) – Sometimes a planter’s wife can get lost in the mix, but Meg is incredibly talented and she’s just as much a part of this as I am. She has a tender heart, a gentle spirit, and has a compassion for others that far surpasses my own. 

I feel so fortunate to see this group come together and look forward to seeing who else will join our team.

2. A Sending Church

Churches plant churches, and this meant that we desperately wanted to be a part of a church that would coach us and send us. We also wanted to be a part of a church where we could serve together and is in the type of context where we’ll be ministering in Denver. Fortunately, the pieces have started to come together to have this happen at The Summit Church.

The Summit is an incredible church that has done great things in RDU. They are a church that measures their success by their “sending capacity” rather than their “seating capacity.” Part of this is their desire to plant 1,000 churches in the next forty years. Summit, in partnership with their SendRDU program, has begun coaching and assessing us to be one of their church plants. While there is still much that needs to happen to make this official, I’m thankful that we’re at least being considered for this. It is such a tremendous blessing. 

3. Partnerships in the City

We also didn’t want to be oblivious to the work that has gone before us in the city. It’s not like we’ll be the first good church in Denver, as there is already been work going on out there. I love cooperating for the cause of the gospel as the gospel is “the great unifier.” Territorialism in light of this is utterly ridiculous. 

Fortunately, we were able to start putting relationships in place with pastors already in the area when we made our trip out there in January. I really appreciated their spirit of cooperation, and recognition that no one church is going to reach a city of Denver’s size on its own. One of these pastors, Korey (lead pastor of Hope Valley Church), has been in the area for some time and has a heart to share his wisdom with new planters. I am really looking forward to learning from him. I also look forward to intentionally trying to develop relationships with other pastors and planters in the area to see how we can complement the work that is already taking place.

So it looks like the three biggies are in place. It truly has been a work of God, and has not been because of any wit of my own (in fact, I’d say this has all happened in spite of my shortcomings). Thank you, Lord, for the work that you have already put in place.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. matthewcthomas permalink
    September 20, 2009 10:26 am

    amen…ps…you stayed up really late

  2. September 22, 2009 7:52 am

    I am SO excited for you guys! May God bless you for your heart for the lost.

Leave a Reply

