Skip to content

My first SBC (sort of)

June 24, 2009

Yesterday I spent a good portion of the day watching the convention online from home. Here are a few thoughts:  

– Encouraged by the adoption of the Great Commission Resurgence task force. I think if that had been turned down Acts29 may have received a couple hundred new applications from young Baptists today.

– It’s still crazy to me that anybody can get up and speak at the convention. It is completely consistent with our view of church government, so it’s somewhat exciting, but some of those proposed resolutions were downright crazy.

– I wish we were consistent – it seems like every resolution was either opposed to Obama, opposed to Driscoll, for the KJV bible, or for recovering our “Christian nation.” I also thought it was pretty interesting to see my president (Dr. Akin) and my evangelism professor (Dr. Reid) be called into question. I’m glad that all the ridiculous stuff was defeated.  But I’m still waiting for someone to get up and propose the “care for the poor, orphan, and widow” resolution.

– As I was typing this they passed the resolution on orphan care – cool.

– Also, as I was typing this Dr. Akin moved to have the convention pray for President Obama – cool again.

– I heard that the Baptist21 panel was incredible from my buddy, Matt. He said it was so exciting to see such a gospel-centered, Bible-saturated movement in the convention. Speaking of Matt, major props to him for making it to vote in favor of the GCR resolution last night.

– I’m in for the 2010 convention in Orlando. In the midst of much of this chaos, I am excited to be a part of the future of this convention and have become increasingly aware of the importance of cooperation. I don’t want to be a lone ranger.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 30, 2009 10:54 am

    2010 in Orlando would be a good graduation present. Think Andy would ride us down on the bike…?

Leave a Reply

