Skip to content

Up for Air

May 21, 2009

The semester is finished. This was the hardest semester in my very brief academic career, and included a trip to Denver, plans to spend the summer in Denver that were put on hold, a health-scare and surgery for my wife, the loss of our car “Wanda” (our Honda), a trip to Mexico, coaching another great year of baseball, work, and four very difficult classes, as well as Megan’s regularly strenuous course load.

I do not mean to complain, but rather give thanks to God for all that He got us through these past few months.

With the unexpected hospital bills coming in I didn’t know if I would be able to finish the semester, or have to drop out to work to pay for everything. My parents told us to keep doing what we were doing and we would make things work. I had good friends who were also in seminary or about to begin seminary, and thus not exactly living large, offer to take money out of their savings accounts to help us. We had someone anonymously give us $500. We had Duke recently decide to cover the vast majority of our expenses because of a hardship application we submitted.

We lost our main car to an accident and had a man offer to sell us a Volvo that was 6 years and 70,000 miles  younger than our Honda (that didn’t have a working radio or A/C) for $100 off the insurance money we got through our claim.

My first inclination is to say that God is good because of all this. And He is, and to think all this was a mere set of “coincidences” that just happened to work out requires more faith than believing in the Lord’s provision. However, what if all this hadn’t worked out? Is God still good? Is it because He made all this work out that He is somehow more praiseworthy in my eyes?

If that’s the case, then I should be ashamed. The goodness of the Gospel is not God’s gifts, but God Himself. Therefore, while I cannot be 100% sure how we would have responded had this not all worked out, I pray that our satisfaction with Christ’s sufficiency would have meant that our love for Him would not have been conditional and dependent on our circumstances.

These past few months I’ve learned more about the centrality of the Gospel and the sufficiency of Christ more than anything else. These past few months I was able to put my “head knowedge” to the test.

Thank you, Lord, for taking care of us these past few months. Amen.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

