Skip to content

Never move beyond the Gospel

April 15, 2009

“Examination of the New Testament documents shows that growth is not stepping out from the gospel, but rather stepping out with the gospel. Many of the problems dealt with in the epistles arise from a failure to apply the gospel to some aspect of life. The solution to this problem is to restore the gospel to its rightful place at the center of our thinking and doing.”

– Graeme Goldsworthy, According to Plan, 219

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 15, 2009 9:32 am

    Good point. I’ve met more than one Christian who have taken their devotions to a level that is so ascetic that its almost impossible to have a conversation with them. When asked, they say they’re going “beyond the Gospel.” I would tell them this. “If I am driving to your house and I am suppose to make a right turn on Main St. but go one block further, I missed it.” You cannot got outside the Gospel and re-present the Gospel to people in any accurate manner. Besides, I’ve yet to meet one person who has even lived Matthew 5-7 adequately, much less have the need to add to it.

    Having said all that, I hope I got the gist of your post. I would hate to have said all that and still gone outside what you were saying!

    Blessings,

    Jim

Leave a Reply

