Skip to content

Greek Resources

April 3, 2009

Dr. Black’s new edition of his Greek book can be found here and the new workbook can be found here. This is a sad day for me as the edition that I used through Greek I and II will no longer be found on bookshelves.

While on the topic of Greek resources, Megan got me the best Easter present ever – Walter Bauer’s Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament and Other Early Christian Literature (BDAG). I’ve been looking at it for months – we came across a fantastic deal online and Megan pulled the trigger.  This is the Corvette of Greek lexicons, and I’m tremendously excited to have it for my exegesis class now, as well as the classes I’ll be taking this summer and in the fall.

This speaks to Megan’s incredible generosity – between her surgery and having a car totaled a couple weeks ago (!) things are tight right now. But she knew this was a resource I had been looking at for a while, and would be a big help for my upcoming classes.

When considering marriage I think one of the first questions that needs to be asked is: “will this person believe in me?” It has to be more than a matter of coexisting, or having a few mutually shared interests. We have the same mission which manifests itself in different ways. I feel like Megan believes in me and I certainly believe in her. That’s why she sacrifices for me to have an expensive book for Greek that she will probably never use, and we will do what it takes for her to finish her school for nursing.

In other news, Wednesday will be the three year anniversary of us meeting for the first time.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. M.J. Turner permalink
    April 3, 2009 3:45 pm

    To quote Napoleon Dynamite, “Lucky!” I am now going to repent in sackcloth and ashes of my jealousy. Now I can go to your apt instead of the library to use BDAG!

  2. April 3, 2009 3:52 pm

    No need to repent – it’ll give you an excuse to come over and hang out and you teach me how to use this thing. I’m pretty sure angels will sing when I open the cover the first time.

Leave a Reply

