Skip to content

Speed Reading

January 26, 2009

Breakthrough Rapid Reading

I’m a seminarian, which means that if I’m not in class the majority of my free time is spent reading. And I love to read, and read a good bit, but I still feel pretty inadequate when I think of all that I haven’t read. There is much to read and little free time to do it in, and one of the ways I have been able to read more is starting through the book above – Peter Kump’s Breakthrough Rapid Reading.

I realize by now it probably looks like Peter Kump sent me $7 to say something nice about his book on my blog, but this really isn’t the case (however,  Peter Kump, if you’re reading this go ahead to mail me a monetary gift of any size if you feel led). When I first saw it I thought it was a gimmick, but I gave it some time, worked through the chapters, and I’ve doubled my rate of reading while maintaining the same level of comprehension. That’s why I’m recommending this to others.

A few caveats if you decide to give it a try:

1. Be disciplined in doing the exercises. You really have to work through the drills with each chapter. Invest the time now, and it will pay back significantly in a short period of time.

2. Someone asked me if it takes away from the enjoyment of reading. I enjoy reading because I get to engage new ideas, think about them, and talk about them with others. So for me, getting through more books (and therefore more ideas) in less time makes reading faster more enjoyable. If you’re one of those people that just loves sitting with a good novel for four hours on a hammock and some sweet tea, then speed reading may not be for you. It is certainly a more “active” method of reading.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

