Skip to content

Making a Man Wise

January 9, 2009

Today was the last day in my “Gospel-Centered Church” class with J.D. Greear of The Summit Church. I’m going to continue posting thoughts from the class, but something today stuck with me in particular. Dr. Greear quoted Tim Keller who said something along these lines when it came to listening to other pastors’ sermons: listen to one preacher and be a mimic, listen to two preachers and be confused, listen to twenty preachers and find your own voice, listen to 100 preachers and become wise.

This struck me because I have admit I really only have “my guys” that I tend to listen to regularly (the usual – John Piper, Mark Driscoll, etc). If one was to have a regular diet of twenty different preachers, who should they be? This would include a diversity in styles, even those who don’t preach in a strict expository style, and (to include the obligatory seminary statement) that I may not agree with in every theological respect. Here’s 11 I would include that I thought up off the top of my head:

Mark Driscoll, John Piper, James MacDonald, Mark Dever, Johnny Hunt, Andy Stanley, Ravi Zacharias, J.D Greear, Danny Akin, Alistair Begg, Al Mohler

Any thoughts for others?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2009 4:37 pm

    Timothy Keller, Matt Chandler, John MacArthur, Andy Davis, Ryan Fullerton (www.ibclouisville.org), and just for kicks, reading the sermons of any of the puritans. . . .

    catch you later. . . .

  2. Matthew Thomas permalink
    January 10, 2009 7:56 pm

    Matthew Thomas…jk

    um.

    Billy Graham, Jesus, The apostels, random pastors on the radio, I’ll let you know if i think of more.

    Also, I found that I can really find a pretty good view of the secular world by listening to NPR. and they have really good stories on there sometimes.

Leave a Reply

