Skip to content

five nights in a row (by Megan Barley)

October 22, 2008

Thanks for welcoming me into the world of blogging. I do admit to being a lover of blogs, especially my husband’s. What a cool thing they are! I have been debating back in forth in my own head of whether or not I should have a blog; so hopefully my experience as being a guest blogger will help to solidify a decision.

Although chicken pot pies are not necessarily Great Commission material, and it doesn’t really have much to do with the gospel, I figured I would err on the side of caution and not get too deep. So, Bryan and I have been married for a year and almost 4 months now (still cannot believe it) and I have noticed a few things about him and his eating habits.

1. He has a bowl of cereal for breakfast every morning. Big breakfasts are not his thing, so don’t even try.
2. He is not the biggest fan of vegetables but if I put enough sea salt and pepper on there, then he is all set.
3.I will preface this one with the fact that my husband is in great shape and runs 3 or 4 miles several times a week. (I’m still getting up to running to this one house in our neighborhood-I think it may be like .5 mile. We all have different strengths, right?) But Bryan loves to snack. A few of his favorites include Publix brand vanilla wafers (if you know me at all, you know this is in my top 5 things I miss about South Carolina), sour green grapes, graham crackers, Nutri Grain Bars, green apples, Sun Chips, Cheez its, fig newtons, and raisins. The man loves to snack.
4. He will eat a house and home of candy. Any kind, especially candy. If you want to give Bryan something special, let it be candy. He is a candy man.
5.He is totally fine with leftovers.

Being that my husband is totally fine with leftovers, I get away with not cooking every night of the week. I truly enjoy cooking and I really like to try new recipes, but when it is a night before a test or I have a big project that I am working on—leftovers will be totally fine with him. In fact, one of the things I remember him telling my Mom when we first started dating was just how much he loved “reheated casseroles and pasta dishes”. But this past week, the leftovers got to be a little much.

October has been a bit of a busy month for both of us school wise. Looking back, I don’t know what made me so busy that I had to serve leftovers 4 nights in a row. Yes, any of you who are reading this-I served leftovers 4 nights in a row. Keep in mind that they have to be left over from a previous meal. This means that Bryan had a helping of Chicken pot pie 5 nights in a row last week!!! By the 5 night, Bryan did politely tell me that he was tired of the chicken pot pie and would like to have something else. I got the clue not to do that to him again. But hey, I could have always thrown in a bowl of cereal as a meal because he has also been fine with this.

Now you know one of the great qualities of the blogger that I am guest blogging through-you know just how accommodating he is to his wife. You also know now that the guest blogger who chose to write about leftovers as her first ever blog entry can make a great chicken pot pie that will sustain a man for 5 days. Feel free to email me for the recipe.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Andy permalink
    October 22, 2008 9:50 pm

    wow. what a welcomed relief from all that football nonsense. i’m craving some pot pie now! instead of the recipe, can i just get a plate, mrs. barley? that would be wonderful…

    welcome to the amazing world of blogging.

  2. October 22, 2008 9:56 pm

    Megan blogs once and our number of visitors are off the charts! Maybe I’ll just go ahead and change this to meganbarley.wordpress.com and be done with it – by the way, her pot pie is amazing!

  3. Matthew permalink
    October 23, 2008 6:47 pm

    (This is Tara) That was a terrific blog post, Megan!! Matt is ok with leftovers, too. And cereal for dinner. Being flexible for dinner is a great, great quality to have, we should let our single friends know!!

  4. Matthew permalink
    October 26, 2008 3:57 pm

    we did have breakfast pizza for a week once and i thought i was gonna turn into breakfast pizza. haha…you gotta love being married

Leave a Reply

